Thread: Welcome to my new hobby 2011 Polo GTI

Users Country Flag

Exclamation Welcome to my new hobby 2011 Polo GTI

Hi,
    I have been searching though the forums for the last 8 months after buying a 2011 Polo GTI. The car was a bit rough and fixing it's issues has got me totally consumed with the possibility's that can be achieved with research and a few dollars.
    I purchased a Ross-Tech cable and discovered that as a home mechanic I can now do the things that I could not do since cars got computerized.
    I'm now ready to start asking informed questions.

I have already upgraded most of the entertainment system in the car and I'm now moving onto more complicated things that I will need some experienced advice with.

Users Country Flag Thread Starter
    After reading the other new user posts I thought I would add some more info.

In late March, this year I hurriedly purchased a basic 2011 Polo GTI because my 2002 Honda Acord euro luxury that I had owned for 16 years was about to be towed away in 2 days after being written off due to hail damage. I had done nothing to the Accord because it came with everything I needed, and everything had got complicated regarding the electronics etc.
    In the past I had changed CAM belts, Clutches, gearbox bearings, head gaskets and done all the general servicing to all my cars.
    When purchasing the GTI I did no research and had some issues with buckled wheels, broken aircon vents and generally the car had not been looked after. I realised I would need to do some work on it to be happy. Then the COVID lockdown hit and I had lots of time on my hands.
    Initially it was still legal to visit auto wreckers, so I purchased 2 strait gutter scraped wheels that came with good tyres and a cheap price. While searching for the bits I needed to tidy up the GTI, I released that I could buy a Ross-Tech cable and start doing some real stuff to the car.