Support VWWC

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: My VR6T

My VR6T

I thought it was about time I shared some photos and info about my VR6T that I have been driving around Adelaide for almost 3 years.

I bought the car back in 2005 (or 2006 I can't remember) with about 185000kms. It needed the usual chains, clutch and suspension repairs. I got sick of it looking like a tractor so the first mod was to put in some B&G Coilovers and HD top strut mounts. This made we happy and content for hmmmm, about 5min.

Next was to address the 'power issue', so i took the plunge and bought a VF stg2 supercharger kit. This was a great kit that worked and felt amazing to drive, but after some issues regarding oil leaks from the internal seals of the S/C and several attempts to have it fixed to no avail. VF finally agreed to replace the unit under warranty. But it never made its way back onto the car.

The engine had started to blow smoke on over run, so it was time for a rebuild. Luckily I had a spare engine that I could rebuild while the still driving the car. While rebuilding I decided to go the whole hog, low comp 8.5:1 JE forged pistons, Crower rods, ARP mains and head studs, fully balanced crank, rods and pistons, 24v metal layer head gasket (brings it back to about 9:1), Ferrea 40mm intake and 36mm exhaust valves, ferrea titanium retainers and HD springs, ferrea triple groove collets, lightweight German INA hydraulic lifters(apparently some diesel version) and a set of Cat 263 cams.

Head also had a minor P&P to suit the larger valve seats, match port with both intake and exhaust manifolds. Intake and exhaust manifolds got a good ceramic coating(to try to reduce under bonnet heat).

Oh , and a new OE oil pump.