Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: QLD: Noisy rattling MK2 engine / Intro into the MK2 scene.

QLD: Noisy rattling MK2 engine / Intro into the MK2 scene.

Hi guys,

As I'm new to this scene of the euro/golfs i am need of some knowledge from the experts.
    Currently my 1990 MK2 GTI 3 speed auto is making some horrendous rattling sound once warmed up and under load(especially hills). The research i have done into this is presuming the tappets/hydraulic lifters are shot or blocked..
    This noise all started happening after i had all the belts done and a general service. I was told 10w/40 oil was put in and then told if i were to increase the thickness of the oil it would change the rattling.. I haven't done this yet but am curious if it is that easy… Surely not.

Any help would be GREATLY appreciated!

In the mean time i shall attach some photos and show the progress of my little build thus far, have only added cheap coil overs to stiffen it up and accommodate the wheels I put on. Started with a set of BBS RS reps (17x8.5 +20) which were WAY to aggressive but did look and sit pretty. But now have upgraded to a set of Mtechnica Turbo's (16x8 +15) which i cannot wait to get onto this thing, as I'm in America for the next 5 weeks she is sitting in the car port on the little 15's it came with.
    I do have big plans for this little one but would like it running a bit smoother as it is my daily driver! Even though i cannot simply help myself to add that stance/unique look to it.

Hopefully get to meet some of you guys or see and hear about other builds and learn all about these awesome little cars!

Thanks!

Users Country Flag