Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Unexpected gearbox(?) noise coming from car during acceleration

Users Country Flag

Two things..
    1. Lol at the suggestion it was the automatic doors locking.
    2. That guy got a refund? Is this a UK thing?!?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    2010 MY11 GOLF R - 5DR | DSG | RISING BLUE | DYNAUDIO + ACC + BLUETOOTH + 19s + RNS510 |

2017 MY17 TIGUAN HIGHLINE - 5DR | DSG | PEARL BLACK | SUNROOF + DAP |

Me too

Quote Originally Posted by Teduardo View Post
    Hey all, newbie here and glad to be part of the forum.

Having a problem - just purchased a Tiguan HL MY17 privately, had it inspected by VW beforehand and test drove myself and all seemed OK. On that basis I purchased the vehicle. However, a couple days in and the car is making noises which I did not pickup on the test drive nor did VW during inspection.

When the car is put into Drive and start accelerating gently, it makes a short, sharp 'grinding' type sound for a split second (best I can describe it - similar to synchromesh grind in a manual car). At the moment it only occurs when going from Park to Drive and accelerating from standstill or from Reverse to Drive and in 1st gear around 10km/h. Once the car is in Drive and then stop, it doesn't do it again (at this stage). It's intermittent but replicable. Will uploaded a video shortly which demonstrates the sound.

Obviously not very happy given its day 3 of ownership and have contacted the seller and VW to have it inspected.

Would appreciate feedback from anyone who knows of this issue or what it may be or if there are other threads discussing this issue, thanks.
    Hi Teduardo
    Just wondering if there is any update on your problem.