Thread: 2020 Tiguan 132 Comfortline 4 Motion, reverse " drivetrain slap"

Users Country Flag

2020 Tiguan 132 Comfortline 4 Motion, reverse " drivetrain slap"

Hi All, Newbie here and I have noticed in our 4 month old Tiguan that when going in reverse slowly up hill and you modulate the speed, the drive train seems to make really strange noises like it has significant play. To an old boy like me it feels like slap/slack in the drivetrain. Does anyone know if this is a normal issue with AWD reversing? We've never owned an AWD before and I want to check before I hit VW with it. Thanks for any advice. I have also noticed that when moving forward if you lift off going round a corner or such, there is also a small amount of similar play in the drivetrain, but nowhere near as obvious as in reverse.

Users Country Flag
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter A View Post
    Hi All, Newbie here and I have noticed in our 4 month old Tiguan that when going in reverse slowly up hill and you modulate the speed, the drive train seems to make really strange noises like it has significant play. To an old boy like me it feels like slap/slack in the drivetrain. Does anyone know if this is a normal issue with AWD reversing? We've never owned an AWD before and I want to check before I hit VW with it. Thanks for any advice. I have also noticed that when moving forward if you lift off going round a corner or such, there is also a small amount of similar play in the drivetrain, but nowhere near as obvious as in reverse.
    Have you got it in ECO mode.
    2021 Kamiq LE 110 , Moon White, BV cameras F & B
    Mamba Ebike to replace Tiguan

Users Country Flag Thread Starter
    No. Normal driving mode

Users Country Flag
    Cant say Ive noticed that but with DSG you get them a little bit slow on the uptake sometimes when you go into a slowing situation and then hit the loud pedal again.

Reason being the electronics sense it slowing and so readies the clutches for another downchange.