Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: R36 - Time to look for a new battery

R36 - Time to look for a new battery

Hi guys

Original battery is giving in I believe, dropping under 12v and tripping the parking mode in my car after turning off the ignition. (Don't think this is normal - I'm no mechanic myself...)

I also purchased a CTEK MXS 5.0 yesterday for ~$100 off eBay with the 15% eBay Plus discount for the sake of it as I'll be going on a family trip in 2 weeks, not sure if it'll help or not after a recondition.

Just wanting to see what people are running in their R36 at the moment, and any recommendations of places I can purchase a new battery around Sydney?

Thanks.

Users Country Flag
    Going under 12v doesn't on it's own indicate a failing battery. Possibly just that it is being depleted.
    Go to your nearest Battery World and they will test it quickly.
    If you are going to replace it I would recommend an AGM like the factory one that you have as it will last unlike a cheap flooded lead acid which can die after a few years.
    2011 Skoda Octavia vRS TDI DSG wagon|Revo Stage 1|Race Blue|Leather|Dynamic Xenons w 6000K|9w7 BT|THA475 Amp+active sub|Whiteline ALK|RVC|
    2009 R36 wagon|Biscay Blue|RVC|Tailgate|ECU and DSG tune|LED DRL/Indicators|3D colour cluster|Quad LED tail rings|Climatronics upgrade|Dynaudio retrofit|B7 RLine Flat Steering Wheel|3AA CCM|TPMS Direct|B7 Adaptive Cruise with Front Assist|Discover Media retrofit|PLA 2.0|Lane Assist|BCM retrofit|High Beam Assist|DQ500

Users Country Flag
    I replaced my original battery last year with a Varta AGM G14 battery from an Ebay reseller. Not cheap at $500, but I essentially wanted an OEM replacement so was prepared to pay the price.
    Biscay Blue MY10.5 Passat R36 Wagon
    Options: Sunroof, RNS510 Sat Nav, Dynaudio, Power Tailgate, ACC with Front Assist, RVC, BT 9w7, Factory Tint and Factory Towbar
    Night Blue MY15.5 Golf GTI Performance