Support VWWC

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Wheel hum / rumbling noise

Wheel hum / rumbling noise

Bought a new GTI P recently and been an awesome car. However, noticed a hum coming from the left front wheel are which only happens at certain speed ranges. Hum starts as the car approaches 50km/h and disappears at 60 km/h. Go faster and it's loudest around 70 km/h and goes away again beyond 80km/h. I think it's also worse when I turn left at those speeds. Have tried some troubleshooting - different roads (no difference), tyre pressures (no change), comfort/normal/sports modes (no difference) so I'm wondering if it's the tyre or bearing. I reckon it started after a period of heavy storms but the car was never parked/driven into floods except for wet roads.

Have taken it into a dealer and was able to reproduce the sound but the mechanic reckons he couldn't hear it. I am a musician with very sensitive ears and I would tolerate road noise which is constant but when it happens with varying speeds, it does frustrate me. The workshop has kindly booked me in for a second test drive again so see if he can hear it.

Any ideas on the cause of it? I've only got 3000kms on it btw.

Users Country Flag
    does the steering vibrate on the highway 100kmh? buckled wheel can make humming noise..

after storms, Brisbane is full of potholes and with GTI PP 225 35 19 tyres, there is very slim chance of the wheels winning a fight against potholes. 19" wheels vs potholes = potholes win.
    Mitsubishi Pajero Sport - Super Select 2WD/4WD
    Toyota 86 GTS Performance Pack Moon Slate - RWD
    MINI Cooper S Clubman - FWD

nat225, haven't hit any major potholes that I know of. Steering doesn't vibrate at highway speeds. I know what u mean about potholes vs 19' as I got 19's too on my a4 and no marks to this day 2.5 years and going.

Users Country Flag