Thread: Tentative first VW (MK7.5 R) buyer question? Why the bad rap?

Users Country Flag

Tentative first VW (MK7.5 R) buyer question? Why the bad rap?

Hey all,

Tl;dr - Im maybe days away from buying a MK7.5 R to replace my daily Rav4, but am getting turned off by some mechanics, family friends etc.

My background is modified jap cars; SR's, RB's, 2J's, Civics, Subeys and i still own a single turbo 89 GTR. Im mechanically minded and do 99% work myself, have rebuilt motors etc.

Up until a few months ago, I had the impression that VAG cars were highly strung PoS, not suited to AU weather and never lasted past 100k km;s. That electrics would fail and they were a general nightmare to own unless you weren't on 150k/A and didn't mind lots of service recalls and a living with a money pit.

But then i drove a mates 2018 GTI DSG hard last year and was pretty impressed. Few months back, i drove a mates 2018 R H-pattern hard through some mountains and even sat in the back for a 5hrs on a road trip. I was very impressed. Civilised, absorb km's. Peppy tight motor and very capable around corners at speed.
    Iv spent 5-10hrs on the forums, YT, reddit, etc. I read that journo”s have been raving about these for a few years. That they represent maybe the BEST sporty daily practical car available. I researched all the generations of the EA888, know about the various early DG200 DSG issues. Im aware of how they respond to the usual host of mods (very well) It seemed i was maybe stuck in past, ignorantly thinking cars hadnt matured since my beloved Japanese 90’s.

So im left with these two opposing positions.