Thread: GTi Original Mk 7.5 - lowering suggestions?

Users Country Flag

GTi Original Mk 7.5 - lowering suggestions?

Hi all,

Newbie here. Tried to register at vwgolf.net.au, but can't get validation email (others seem to have the same problem) - Justin Fox (founder there) seems to be dead or indifferent as he is impossible to reach. I hear you guys are a friendly bunch

I am the proud owner of one of the very rare GTI Originals (Mk 7.5 201. I am looking for advice about lowering in a way that doesn't overlay worsen the ride harshness. One suggestion so far is "Bilstein B8 & H&R Springs" but he estimates 25 mm drop - sounds a bit much to me.

To my way of thinking, 15-20 mm would be enough (visually) without being too stiff. I actually saw a red one on the road the other day, lowered nicely (DWA ***), and I should have stopped him for info - alas here I am.

Any recommendations for lowering? Amount, spring types or installer

Also, I highly recommend you guys participate in the GolfGTi reddit.

Thanks all!

Users Country Flag
    Eibach usually get good wraps for retaining some ride comfort.

Otherwise it will be the usual suspects and all would usually have a kit that aims around that 20-25mm mark.

You'll find that 20-25mm is the sweet spot for the right look, without being too low for practical use.

--- FS: 2016 Golf GTI 40 years, white, DSG, 18,xxxkm -------------------------------------------------------------------
    2019 Audi SQ5 | 2016 Golf GTI CS + OZ UL HLTs | Retired: 2018 Audi RS3 sportback + OZ Leggera HLTs
    2017 Golf R Wolfsburg Sportwagen | 2016 BMW 340i + M-Performance tune/exhaust | 2015 Audi S3 sedan
    2014 Golf GTI + OZ Leggera HLTs | 2012 Polo 77TSI (hers) | 2010 Golf GTI Stage 2 + OZ ST LMs

Users Country Flag