Thread: Best bang for buck mods - 2017 RS169

Best bang for buck mods - 2017 RS169

Hi guys

I’m new to the VAG family and looking for the best bang for buck mod options for my Octavia RS169.

So far I’ve seen the dogbone upgrade is popular to help eliminate axel tramp (which I get lots of times) but also keen to see what else is recommended from other owners.

Really enjoying the car and although it’s a daily and family hauler I’m now looking to add some tasteful mods for some extra oomph.

Intake? Tune? JB4? Exhaust?

Keen to hear everyone’s advice.

Users Country Flag
    The dogbone mount is a very good idea, cheap and totally reversible if/when you sell the car .Either this one or this one

A tune or JB1/4 would definitely be the next best bang for your buck modification you can do.

For me personally, an intake would also be on the list, as i love hearing the induction and turbo sound.

Also for me personally, some wheel spacers on the stock wheels really make the car look better. Like these

But modifying cars is a personal thing, so do what you want/like.
    2017 Ford Fiesta ST
    2015 Audi SQ5 bi-turbo V6 TDI family hauler

Quote Originally Posted by Lucas_R View Post
    The dogbone mount is a very good idea, cheap and totally reversible if/when you sell the car .Either this one or this one

A tune or JB1/4 would definitely be the next best bang for your buck modification you can do.

For me personally, an intake would also be on the list, as i love hearing the induction and turbo sound.

Also for me personally, some wheel spacers on the stock wheels really make the car look better. Like these

But modifying cars is a personal thing, so do what you want/like.
    Thanks so much your great reply mate!

I think I need to check what dogbone type I have as it looks like there are 2 versions, I’ll definitely go with this upgrade.

Keen to learn more about the JB1 & JB4. Do you know what the differences between these two are? Simple plug n play type?