Support VWWC

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Transmission Mount

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    6
    Users Country Flag

    Transmission Mount

    I installed a new transmission mount and snapped two bolts (#3 in the diagram).
    Transmission Mount-golf-mk4-1513-png
    The Bentley repair manual mentions that the bolt is to be torqued to 100nm. I didn't even get to 70nm before it snapping. It was seated correctly and I had hand tightened it prior to using a torque wrench.

    I've ordered some new replacement bolts and will be repairing the threads but I was wondering if I either read the manual incorrectly or the torque figure is different.

    The car is a MK4 1.8T with a 02J transmission.

    Any help is appreciated, thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Newcastle
    Posts
    2,874
    Quote Originally Posted by ybkopa View Post
    I installed a new transmission mount and snapped two bolts (#3 in the diagram).
    Transmission Mount-golf-mk4-1513-png
    The Bentley repair manual mentions that the bolt is to be torqued to 100nm. I didn't even get to 70nm before it snapping. It was seated correctly and I had hand tightened it prior to using a torque wrench.

    I've ordered some new replacement bolts and will be repairing the threads but I was wondering if I either read the manual incorrectly or the torque figure is different.

    The car is a MK4 1.8T with a 02J transmission.

    Any help is appreciated, thanks
    They are torque to yield bolts. One time use. Although many have reused with out issue, myself included - this is incorrect practice.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    6
    Users Country Flag Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by HaydEn View Post
    They are torque to yield bolts. One time use. Although many have reused with out issue, myself included - this is incorrect practice.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    I'm aware of that, I should of noted, I didn't re-use the bolts. I bought brand new OEM bolts.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Penrith, NSW
    Posts
    656
    Users Country Flag
    new bolts, both mounts flush up against each other, hand tightened first, seated correctly. You've done everything correct.

    For me there is only 1 conclusion here.

    You had the torque wrench set to 100lbs, not 100nM.

    Don't be embarrassed, we've all done it
    2004 VW Bora V5 | Daily (Until the Bora R32 rises from the ashes!!)
    2004 VW Bora 4motion Oettinger | DBA Slotted Rotors | R32 Trim | 3 BBE Exhaust
    2004 VW Golf R32 | Donor / Part Out

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bairnsdale & Ferntree Gully, Victoria
    Posts
    7,468
    Got the correct length bolts? nothing in the bottom of the hole stopping it by bottoming out.
    Maybe just unlucky

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    6
    Users Country Flag Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by beale187 View Post
    new bolts, both mounts flush up against each other, hand tightened first, seated correctly. You've done everything correct.

    For me there is only 1 conclusion here.

    You had the torque wrench set to 100lbs, not 100nM.

    Don't be embarrassed, we've all done it
    Nah, it was definitely set to 100nM, I've got a fancy GearWrench torque wrench so I'm certain on that

    Quote Originally Posted by dylan8 View Post
    Got the correct length bolts? nothing in the bottom of the hole stopping it by bottoming out.
    Maybe just unlucky
    Definitely the correct length bolts, they were ordered from the dealer and the part number was correct.

    Update: the problem has been resolved. The bolt was going down nearly all the way into the hole before getting any grip onto the threads.

    Tried a tap and die set and it didn't do the trick, had a thread repair guy come out today and he used his helicoil kit and now we're all good!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Bairnsdale & Ferntree Gully, Victoria
    Posts
    7,468

    Quote Originally Posted by ybkopa View Post
    Nah, it was definitely set to 100nM, I've got a fancy GearWrench torque wrench so I'm certain on that



    Definitely the correct length bolts, they were ordered from the dealer and the part number was correct.

    Update: the problem has been resolved. The bolt was going down nearly all the way into the hole before getting any grip onto the threads.

    Tried a tap and die set and it didn't do the trick, had a thread repair guy come out today and he used his helicoil kit and now we're all good!
    Ahhh yes. I did have that on one of mine. Helicoil has done the job so far. Forgot about that.

    I read somewhere that the threaded part (mount on the motor) should be replaced every 3rd time the bolts are removed.

    Sent from my HTC 2PZC100 using Tapatalk

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
| |