Support VWWC

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: VW 6.1 California off road capability

Users Country Flag

VW 6.1 California off road capability

Hey all,

Apologies if this topic has been discussed on another threat (I had a look and couldn't find a discussion on this anywhere, so please redirect me if I've missed it)

So...I have recently migrated to Australia (WA) from the UK and I'm keen to hit the rural roads to experience the great outback and the amazing scenic sites (Gibb River Road, Karijini etc) that are on offer here.

I have previously owned a VW California T6 Ocean (kombi as its known in Australia) and absolutely loved it and it met all my camping needs. I was super excited when the California 6.1 Beach was made available here this year. The spec I was looking at purchasing included 4motion + rear diff lock. I have zero experience in driving in the outback (previously only travelled the UK in the T6, so only know the campers mild off road capabilities on country roads/mud tracks/snow).

I was hoping peeps on this forum may be able to offer there insight and knowledge on how capable the Cali is going off road/unsealed roads/beach camping in Australia i.e. dealing with corrugation, some small river crossing, and driving on sand. I love wild camping and from my experience (limited to the UK) the California is amazing and has given me and the family many amazing memories. However my concern is the California may be unfit for purpose here (i was close to putting an order in and was put off by colleagues and friends who felt the California is designed for European roads and not up to deal with the harsh terrain here). I'd love to prove them wrong!