Thread: T5 340 Fuel economy

T5 340 Fuel economy

Just wondering what sort of fuel economy other T5 owners are getting around town.
    I have to say I feel the fuel economy on my T5 LWB auto van is disappointing.
    I would have thought the 2 litre engine with the 7 speed gear box would be at least on par with the older 2.5 litre 5 speed TDI T4s
    With my older T4 TDI auto I was getting close to 800km around town loaded up with tools.
    On the T5 I'm only getting between 700-750kms on a full tank.
    I wouldn't say I'm a lead foot driver but don't drive sedately either so curious what other forum members experiences are.

Users Country Flag
    Mine's a SWB manual van and I'm probably heavily loaded 30% of the time but will pay tolls where I can.
    It's a bit lighter than the LWB van but the lowest I go is 900kms and that's with air running all the time.
    If not using much aircon, I usually get nearly 1000kms on a tank and about 1100 on the highway.
    2018 Crafter Runner
    T5.2 6sp manual.

What year is the van? Does it use much oil?

2012. No it doesn't use much oil.

Users Country Flag
    Quote Originally Posted by tdi View Post
    2012. No it doesn't use much oil.
    Same as mine...........it doesn't use any oil.
    Today when I filled up it took 74 lts for 989kms
    I used to get better economy when I had the engine light up for a faulty EGR though.
    2018 Crafter Runner
    T5.2 6sp manual.