Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: T4 DIY & How to.

Understand how it works, troubleshoot logically BEFORE replacing parts.
    2001 T4 TRAKKA Syncro 2.5TDI,2006 Mk5 2.0TDI Golf manual,2001 Polo 1.4 16V manual [now sold], '09 2.0CR TDI Tiguan manual,
    Numerous Mk1 Golf diesels

T4 Buyers guide. Not strictly DIY but very useful nevertheless.
    VW T4 Buyers Guide
    Understand how it works, troubleshoot logically BEFORE replacing parts.
    2001 T4 TRAKKA Syncro 2.5TDI,2006 Mk5 2.0TDI Golf manual,2001 Polo 1.4 16V manual [now sold], '09 2.0CR TDI Tiguan manual,
    Numerous Mk1 Golf diesels

Users Country Flag
    1996 T4 2.0 AAC transporter non-running 259k km
    Newbie here, bought this van not knowing what has been done and tried, replaced or messed with. It’s a good, solid rust free van and will make a good camper.
    The engine cranks over, but does not start. I checked the plugs, they are wet and smell of petrol, so suspect my issue is electrical. Could be they tried to replace the cam belt and moved the crankshaft, could be timing, could be ecu, ecu relay,hall sensor or any of the above. I will be removing the grille and radiator, bumper and bash plate then start testing - compression test, check coil with multimeter, timing, etc.
    Questions:
    what workshop manual would you recommend?
    what would you suggest as a sequence of tests, where to start and check in the correct order?
    what tools would you recommend to buy, and which ones can you make or substitute from other worskshop stuff, thinking about crankshaft holders, compression tester, timing light, etc? I have next to no automotive tools at this point thanks to moving countries.

Users Country Flag Thread Starter
    If you have fuel, check spark then timing, then compression.

Quickest way (possibly also cheaper) would be to find a friendly mechanic near you.

Users Country Flag
    It’s also to learn to do it myself ��

Users Country Flag