Support VWWC

Page 28 of 31 FirstFirst ... 182627282930 ... LastLast

Thread: Sams Polo 3.0

Users Country Flag Thread Starter

I would have done ARP's automatically but there's a fair bit out there where people have written/provided pics about having to retorque them, finding fasteners that have backed off, stud nuts that have mushroomed and bit into the head etc. dunno. For the money I'd expect issue free functionality but it sounds to me that they arent without their issues. Yet there's plenty of reports of OE head bolts doing just fine. Hell even IE dont recommend ARP's until much higher power levels and they are product pusher extrordinaire's. I am leaning towards factory bolts at this stage.

Users Country Flag
    Hi Sam, I wouldn't worry about the extra capacity from the elbow, too small to notice.

I have been using ARP head studs for over 3 decades, the machine shop I use more like 5 decades, and I can't say as we have ever had a single issue between us. Considering the thousands they sell each day it's not unlikely that someone somewhere in the world will have an issue and make big deal of it on social media, lucky to be .000001% of the ARP studs in use. Like all fasteners they are only as good as the operator installing them and what they are physically bolting together.

At some point 300bhp is not going to be enough and a bit of future proofing is never a waste.

Cheers
    Gary
    Last edited by Sydneykid; 09-02-2022 at 08:19 AM.
    Golf Mk7.5 R, Volvo S60 Polestar, Skyline R32GTST

Thanks Gary. We’ll I’ve got to pause for a bit to get the supertechs installed into the head first which will give me time to deliberate. There are some ARP bolts in the country for not deal breaker prices so I may look at those.

Users Country Flag
    Poke Poke Poke
    Been waiting for an update for a while

I've almost got my motor built, missing a stud for the tensioner roller and the final pieces like a turbo and all the lines!