Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Polo brake bleed question (replaced front calipers)

Polo brake bleed question (replaced front calipers)

Background:

I've been running TT brakes for a few years with an ongoing issue. The brakes would rattle when going over bad roads, concrete slabs that don't meet well. I've asked about it, taken it to mechanics, lots of googling. No real answer, or help. Its only when off the brakes, if I'm braking lightly, there is no noise (so i softly ride the brake over these areas)

i decided to buy another set of TT brakes (particularly the calipers) which I today installed.

What I've done:

So I swapped out the calipers, trying to minimise the amount of fluid lost during the process. Once the new calipers were on I did a brake bleed in the order Jmac recommends:

Passenger Front, Driver Front, Passenger Rear, Driver Rear. Done with an assistant on the brake pedal pusing 2/3rds down.

Not much in the way of bubbles after the new piston chamber filled.

So far I've only used about 200-300ml of brake fluid to get the system going. I've gone around 4 points twice.

So the new brakes don't rattle when I'm off the brakes! VICTORY!

Now the pedal travels further to bite, a bit soft for me. I can pull up hard, but not as hard as it was.

Question / Advice:

As I've only used a small amount of fluid, should i keep going to flush out bubbles further up?

As I only changed the front brakes, should I focus on the front brakes only?

I understand that it takes about 600-1000ml to do the full fluid change over, but if I'm not seeing bubbles for a while, I'm not sure when enough is enough...

I've also read about bleeding the master cylinder, not sure if this relates to our car or if it may help.

Thanks.

Dont poke and hope, scan, smoke and scope
    Users Country Flag