Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Consindering getting a Polo TDI

Consindering getting a Polo TDI

Hi Guys,

I'm a longtime mk3 vr6 owner who is looking to upgrade. I'm a student though, so budget is very limited. I was thinking of getting a 9n3 Polo TDI. Any caveat emptors I should know about? Hows maintenence on them? My golf was a picture of reliability but servicing was extruciatingly expensive at times.

I ask, as I am kinda keen on this lass, although I am yet to meet her: https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/fern...ack/1133558510

Cheers for any input
    Last edited by MattyT; 06-04-2017 at 06:44 PM.
    1996 Golf VR6 Colour Concept Green

Users Country Flag
    Only buy a diesel if you are going to do runs that get it up to temperature. Best way to run one is get it hot and keep it that way. Worst way is to do short commutes that never get it properly hot.
    2021 Kamiq LE 110 , Moon White, BV cameras F & B
    Mamba Ebike to replace Tiguan

Isnt that the same for any car, though?

Users Country Flag
    Quote Originally Posted by MattyT View Post
    Isnt that the same for any car, though?
    Not really Petrols are much more tolerant of short runs. Thats why we have the petrol Polo for shopping and the TDI for trips. Only take it out for trips of an hour or more.

Thats the reason trucks do such big mileages Run hot and keep going. I used to drive a 10 year old Merc bus. It worked 16 hours every day and had done 800,000 and the motor and injectors had never had a spanner on them.
    Was still warm when we came in in the morning and went like a train.

On the most part, the diesel seems to be very strong engines and mostly reliable. Some of the usual VW electrics. The main consideration for/against is parts availability if something goes wrong and the lack of knowledge base on them in the local community. Not to say there's not knowledgable people, just not the same knowledge as the VR6 or GTI.