Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Brake pedal feel

Users Country Flag

Sorry in advance, I'm not very good at road brake pads, I really only concern myself with what we use in the various race cars. My go to brake pad supplier is Hawk, as follows;

DTC80, they are new and I haven't used them as yet, supposedly even higher coefficient of friction and faster bite than the DTC70.

DTC70, what we use in the front of Formula cars and cars with downforce (eg; sports sedans) as they have a high CoF and very quick bite.

DTC60, what we use in the rear of Formula cars and the front of cars with a little bit of downforce, plus FWD cars with LSD's, they also have a high coefficient of friction (CoF) but the initial bite is slightly more forgiving.

DTC50, I have never used these, they are a bit of an orphan for our uses.

All 4 of the above need a driver with the skill to modulate the brake pedal to mitigate the propensity to lock the wheels. The DTC60 works OK on the front of cars with ABS. I wouldn't use the DTC80/70/50 on a car that gets used on the road (or hillclimbs), their minimum operating temperature is too high.

HT10, the pad that I use front and rear, good all rounder, works OK at low temperatures, tolerant of fairly high temps, good release (handy for drivers not that great at modulation), can be used on the road, not noisy, average dust (which would be next to no dust compared to Euro pads).

Blue, the original, Hawk have tried a few times to discontinue this compound but the demand just won't go away. Much like the HT10 but with slightly lower operating temps.

HP Plus, their combo road and track pad, OK for supersprints, hillclimbs and maybe time attack in a zero downforce car with no ABS. Rather dusty and they squeal, well they did in the Evo.

That's a summary, any questions just ask and I will try and answer them as best I can.