Support VWWC

Thread: Golf cabrio 118 TSI engine - are there any that are OK?

Users Country Flag

Golf cabrio 118 TSI engine - are there any that are OK?

Hi all - newbie here. I have checked the threads but have not found a similar question ....
    I currently have a 2008 diesel EOS and a mid life crisis .
    Unfortunately the kids (twins) are now taller than I am and I need a car with more rear space. I am still having my mid life crisis and love my convertible. From when I bought my EOS, I checked out rear leg room and surprisingly, the Golf cabrio had the same amount of room (when my seat is in the driving position) as my old subaru, hence want to get one of those. Sadly , they don't come in a diesel here in Aus only the 118 TSI.
    I've read (and heard) about the spectacular engine failures with the timing chain stretching.... in the CAVD one I think.
    I've also read that later on the chain was changed to a belt with less problems (??)
    My question is .... is there a variant here in Aus that is less prone to the spectacular failure and which year or engine code should I be looking for? Have found a used 2012 manual Golf with 119k on the clock and a perfect service history and a rear camera - bonus!
    Thank for your time and knowledge in advance!
    Last edited by Jess et al; 07-05-2022 at 10:55 PM.

Users Country Flag
    The short answer is no, they have all the same issues as the other Mk6 118 TSI's Twin Charged Golfs. The pistons crack. VW used to fix them under warranty/goodwill, but I don't like your chances on that anymore.

In short, if it hasn't broken yet, it will. KM, service history and all that make zero difference. The fix was new pistons that last longer, but it's still no guarantee that it wont fail again, although there does appear to be less noise around engines that have failed a second time after being rebuilt with those newer pistons.