Support VWWC

Thread: 118TSI Preventative Maintenance?

Users Country Flag

118TSI Preventative Maintenance?

Hi all,

I'm new here, and I'm new to VW. I've been driving Japanese all my life and a few days ago, I purchased my first, EVER (bought with my own money) car, a 2010 118TSI Golf Comfortline.

I've read about all the DSG and the engine failures here and I'm hoping that my first ever car wont come to that and will actually last a little bit longer to get me through the years until I can buy a new one in the future.

It's currently sitting at 97kms.. I noticed that I cant hear the engine from inside (very different experience from Toyota's, etc).. Shifting is smooth and nice, Brakes are super sensitive, No rattle, squeaking, ticking, or any sounds when turning, bumps, even stationary idling.

Service log books were up to date, was recalled three times with these codes,
    Recall code 24S4 - ECU upgrade, Recall code 37G7 - DSG software update, and Recall code 35c1 - DSG clutch recall..

It's also due for the Takata airbag future recall which I'm also gonna be vigilant on doing.

Now, I want to maintain this to the fullest as it seems to be a very clean car, apart from one (shopping trolley) dent and a couple of paint chips, possibly coming from highway debris (owner was from Geelong).

Are there any preventative maintenance that I can do to preserve the DSG working in tiptop shape and also the engine? I know every car is different.. I'm hoping mine is built good. I have a friend who has a scanner to check if there are any error codes in my car next week.

Since I'm new to everything VW.. What do I need to have to service right away, or be checked right away.

Thank you so much for your help, I bought into this brand and I'd like to stay with the brand as I fell in love with the Golf.

Users Country Flag