Thread: 118 tsi golf

Users Country Flag

118 tsi golf

Hey all,

Complete noob here so apologies in advance. Agreed on a price for the below but a mate has since advised me against the twin charged 1.4 engines.

It had the supercharger replaced 18 months ago.

Thoughts?

https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/det...SSE-AD-6320877

Users Country Flag
    The Twincharger really is a beautiful engine... while it's running. But the cost of repairs when (and it's when, not if) it breaks a piston makes it a very poor investment. The chances of VW paying for repairs on these things is getting smaller and smaller as time goes on, especially when the car is over 100,000km and (almost) 10 years old and you're not the original owner. Repair costs are $7k give or take.

There are plenty of options in that sort of price range ($10-15k). These searches are limited to Victoria too, if you're willing to travel there are even more options, although a RWC from a local does save some time and effort.

Even some Mk6 GTI's:
    https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/?q=...))&sort=~Price

and a bunch of Mk7:
    https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/?q=...))&sort=~Price

I'd seriously recommend looking at something else (and I own a twin charger).

Here is the long thread on people who have had broken cars:
    Golf 118 TSI Engine Failures and Service Campaign 24S4
    Last edited by The_Hawk; 04-11-2019 at 12:28 PM.

If it has an engine or heartbeat it's going to cost you. | Refer a Friend - AussieBroadband $50 Credit

Quote Originally Posted by carloz182 View Post
    Hey all,

Complete noob here so apologies in advance. Agreed on a price for the below but a mate has since advised me against the twin charged 1.4 engines.

It had the supercharger replaced 18 months ago.

Thoughts?

Access Denied
    I have one and have had all the problems ( pistons and turbo)...was offered $3,000 on trade in recently and mine is one owner under 100,000 ks and a 2012. That one you are looking at is way over priced.