PDA

View Full Version : Space Saver Wheel - Is my paranoia justified?

DV52
19-02-2014, 11:03 AM
I recently had need to lift the floor panel from the rear of my Golf (something I don't do often) and I noticed how snug the space saver wheel fitted into the car's boot well. I've had little experience with space saver wheels and I've read with some scepticism VW's claim (in the car manual) that they work as requied, when needed. That said, I'm not sure how the Golf will handle, or how safely the car would brake with the space saver fitted when travelling at 80kms/hr (I guess, fitted on the front of the car would be the most problematic). I assume that some aspects of the car's behaviour (like stopping distance) would be affected but I have no idea how impacting the compromise would be for the car's occupants.

Anyhow, solutions such as buying a full size tyre and wheel (from a wreckers rather than from our rapacious friends at VW) are academic if there is not enough space in the Golf's wheel well. Has anyone actually used a full size tyre as a spare in a mk7 Golf? If so, are there any consequences (like not being able to use the lower setting for the floor cover, or not being able to stow away the car-jack tools)?

If using a full size wheels is an viable option, I would welcome others views about my (small) paranoia for space saver spares. Are my suspicions justified, or do you simply recommend that I seek psychiatric help from a trained therapist?

dylan8
19-02-2014, 12:00 PM
There is a few restrictions to them I think.
For example to be used on the rear of the car, and 80km/h max speed.
As you said it wouldn't be the greatest thing to drive on, but to get you back home from down at the shops or stuck in the middle of no where to the nearest town it would come in handy and do the trick

elephino
19-02-2014, 12:00 PM