PDA

View Full Version : adding an inline filter for biodiesel (MK 1 diesel)

iain
27-07-2007, 07:17 PM
Hi, I want to ask a couple of questions of the experienced biodiesel users here.

I'm going to fit an inline filter before the main fuel filter to deal with any crap coming out of the tank. I plan to just replace the piece of hose coming from the metal pipe (coming from the tank) that goes to the main filter for now.

Will I have to prime the fuel system in some way after replacing this and adding a filter? I know this is probably a dumb question but I'm new to this - any advice welcome!:)

Cheers, Iain.

oh, it's a 79 golf gld

brackie
27-07-2007, 08:05 PM
G'day, Iain.

Efficient filtration is essential when running on biodiesel. It's not so much about what the fuel is made of but what it cleans from your existing fuel system. Biodiesel will scour any dirt or corrosion from your tank, fuel lines and any rubberware that is perished. This can end up in the injection pump and will cause no end of damage. Also, it inevitably will contain some water, so the filter that you fit should include a water dropper as it will remove not only water but any big lumps of debris. I would advise that you fit a generic fuel filter housing (off a tractor or stationary diesel engine) that uses cheap elements. The ones that I use are only ~$4.50 each and you can afford to chuck them away regularly (and you will!)

If you intend to make your own biodiesel then do your research and make it properly. Poorly made biodiesel has the potential to kill your fuel injection system.

If you diecide to go ahead with it, yes you will need to bleed the system so fit a filter housing with a priming pump. The type used on Peugeot 505 diesels is ideal.

Lastly, I don't run on biodiesel. I have run my cars and tractors on 100% virgin canola using a two-tank system, however now that the price of canola rivals that of dinodiesel I've given up on it. I would never use WVO.