PDA

View Full Version : Touareg capabilites for off-road - info please

unky dunky
10-07-2011, 02:11 PM
Hi,

I am seriously looking at a Touareg MY12 to start doing the 'grey nomad' thing including the Kimberly's or Flinders Ranges this time next year. As a total novice to off-road touring, I have some numpty questions, please.

Is the 150TDI up to it ... or is the 4X4Motion needed? And is Air Suspension option an important requirement (noting it is not available on 150TDI).

Can the Touareg be fitted with recovery points? I notice there are two plugs on the front bumper but I presume these to cover tie-down points, and I guess tie-down points would not be sufficiently robust for recovery?

Can the Touareg take a roo bar? ... and does anyone make a roo-bar for a Touareg?

Personally, I am very attracted to the 4X4Motion with Air Suspension, but the missus needs me to explain the value proposition for the extra $20k or so over the 150TDI. We looked over the new TDI176 yesterday, and it 'ticks all my boxes'.

Transporter
11-07-2011, 09:03 AM
I believe that the Touareg is as capable as any other 4x4 there, but I would go for air suspension because that gives you extra ground clearance.

R36 Dreamer
11-07-2011, 11:58 AM
Hi,

I am seriously looking at a Touareg MY12 to start doing the 'grey nomad' thing including the Kimberly's or Flinders Ranges this time next year. As a total novice to off-road touring, I have some numpty questions, please.

Is the 150TDI up to it ... or is the 4X4Motion needed? And is Air Suspension option an important requirement (noting it is not available on 150TDI).

Can the Touareg be fitted with recovery points? I notice there are two plugs on the front bumper but I presume these to cover tie-down points, and I guess tie-down points would not be sufficiently robust for recovery?

Can the Touareg take a roo bar? ... and does anyone make a roo-bar for a Touareg?