PDA

View Full Version : It's all in the timing......

Stannum1574
06-11-2010, 07:44 PM
Help. My sons and I have just completed installing a mk3 Golf 1.8 litre engine in our Mk1 Golf Cabriolet. I'm no expert mechanic so it's been a great learning experience for all of us but we've hit a brick wall right at the last hurdle. Is that a mixed metaphor?

The Mk3 engine we've installed was originally a fuel injection motor and therefore had no vacuum advance on the distributor being fully electronic engine management. We've used our inlet manifold and Weber carb from the out-going Mk1 engine on the in-coming Mk3 engine and therefore we had to install the distributor from the Mk1 engine in order to have vacuum advance. I've never removed and replaced a distributor before and I think we've totally ruined the timing on the Mk3 engine. We tried to do it really carefully and follow the instructions in the workshop manual, but when we got it finally fully installed and plumbed/wired in this afternoon it won't start. It struggles to turn over and won't fire at all. I'm no expert but it really sounds like a timing issue to me.

Assuming that it is a timing problem how do you get the timing right again if you've managed to stuff it? Help, please help. This has been a long project and we are now three very disappointed men.

Thanks for any help, David.

mikinoz
06-11-2010, 08:12 PM
I'd be willing to offer my advice, but as I am merely also a no expert mechanic - I am going to wish you all the best and encourage you to keep at it and let us know how you go! I am sure the cheers when you do will be worth the perseverance.

Peter Jones
06-11-2010, 08:25 PM
Turn the motor by hand to get piston no1 to top dead centre.

There should be a mark on the flywheel that'll get you close, then use a screwdriver down the no 1 spark plug hole while turning the motor by hand to find the exact top of the stroke.

Now that you're at TDC on the firing stroke for no1 you can set up the dizzy.