PDA

View Full Version : should I get a polo GTI?

joey_kev
31-03-2007, 12:52 PM
hi all,

I'm a newbie here.
I'm currently driving a honda civic 2002 gli sedan, the car will be sold very soon and I'm in the market of a new car.

my budget is about 25k, I don't mind a lil over but I'm trying to stay under 25k

my options are:
1. used New civic 06/07 bout 24k-ish
2. used Honda accord 05 bout 25k
3. used Golf 5 04/05 1.6L or 1.9L
4. brand spanking new Polo GTI.. a lil over my budget $26990 RRP + dealer delivery, etc

the only thing that I like from the polo gti, its VW (go european cars) and its turbocharged. I don't like the fact that is quite a small car and 2 doors

any opinion?
and how is the fuel consumption on the polo gti? cos I'm after something that is quite fuel efficient.

I've never owned a vw before, how much are the services? I always hear european cars are very expensive to maintain

maybe I could get a used Polo GTI with all options under 25k? I don't see many used polo gti around\

any help would be appreciated..thanks

static1800
31-03-2007, 01:02 PM
Go the Polo GTI! absolute little rocket ships!

joey_kev
31-03-2007, 01:14 PM
I haven't taken a test drive but it will be very soon...
I'm curious what is all the fuss about this lil rocket gti...lol

again the only thing that put me off is a 2 door and such a small car, I'm used with 4dr sedan all my life..

shaneth
31-03-2007, 01:36 PM
Mate its fantastic. Where are you from. I also used to drive larger 4 door cars and then move down to smaller 4 door cars and now im in the Polo and couldnt be ahppier. I guess it all depends on what you want with my car. As for me its only my wife and i in the car normally so 2 doors is fine. As for fuel ecconomy im on 9.7 and im not the nicest driver ;)

joey_kev
31-03-2007, 02:01 PM
9.7 / 100L does not seem to be fuel efficient at all.

what is the recommended fuel consumption? I couldn't find it on the site