PDA

View Full Version : TDI economy and performance

eestison
01-12-2005, 01:55 PM
well, i have just returned home after about a week cruising from central coast QLD to cairns and kuranda. my 2.0 TDI now has approx 2500km on the clock, she is run in - in every aspect; tyres, brakes, engine, etc...

up until this point i have alternated revs/engine loading - not letting it tick over at a steady 2000rpm on the highway, slipping it from 6th down to 4th, via 5th and back up again the whole way up. according to other forums i have read this will help seat in rings/engine internals (i am no mechanic though hehehe) and get the variable geometry turbocharger running as it should.

i have noticed that the fuel economy is improving somewhat as i go - as the internal resistance of the engine reduces. the temp guage sits on a shade above 90C in tropical/central QLD summer temps. on the trip computer my average fuel consumption was showing as 5.6l/100km at the end of my journey. that is a fraction under 1000km to a tank on the highway.

i use BP ultra low sulphur diesel and nothing else. it has a cetane rating of 51 and meets the DIN EN 590 standard that VW suggests in the vehicle handbook. no other diesel here, that i know of, meets this criteria. using this particular brand of diesel is said to prolong the life of the diesel particulate filter and promote better performance. as a bonus it is far far better for the environment.

i have had no real issues with the car so far - the cruise control had a minor lapse south of cardwell, but evaluating the situatiuon with reason (and a bit of knowledge of cruise control systems - i would need both hands and feet ++ to count the number i have installed) i tapped the brake pedal, tried again and was pleased to see it working again.