PDA

View Full Version : Petrol or Diesel

denilu
01-03-2007, 08:52 AM
Hi all

Newbie here - my name is Lou and I am in Sydney - excuse the dumb questions as I know very little about how to fix what is under the hood.

I am tossing up between current Golf 2.0FSI and 2.0TDI. I am not sure whether to go petrol or diesel. I have rented diesels o/s and had not issues. I am not sure about maintenance costs for the diesel compared to the petrol version.

I read somewhere that diesels are a lot more hassle for mechanics and that they will cost much more to service.

99% of my driving will be around Sydney in traffic - will I see the lower fuel costs in the diesel of it that for country driving?

I also read on another thread here that VW are getting rid of TDI and moving to common rail diesel. Does that mean I should wait or perhaps get a petrol car?

I am looking for a car we can keep for at least 6-7 years.

Any tips would be appreciated.

Thanks

eestison
01-03-2007, 10:34 AM
hi, and welcome

i had the same decision to make and ended up going for the 2.0TDI. i have had mine now for ~15 months.

i do mainly city driving in brisbane and manage to get 800km out of a 55l tank of diesel with a weighted foot, the economy is great, on the highway i get a little over 1000km from a tank now that the car is run in. i have done just under 17000km.

as for the servicing costs, i am not sure. i have have free servicing for another two years. i believe the scheduled costs begin around $350 for the first sevice and then go up in small increments per 15000km service interval. i think the 60000km service is around $450 to $500.

my car used approximately 600mL of oil in the first 10000km, over an 11 month period. it has used no more oil since the first service at 12mths.

as for the TDI being phased out... well, yes and no. the TDI will still be a TDI, but the PD (pump duse or unit injector) type engines are being replaced by CR (common rail) engines.