PDA

View Full Version : 2.0l 16v Engine differences

barrygti
27-02-2007, 08:08 PM
Hey guys,

Need help with engine differences, I have heard of 9A and ABF engines, I believe both are 2.0l 16v but what's the difference?

Or what are all the differences......... :D

I am going to swap to 2l in my Mk1 eventually and need to know what's best(will be turbo in long run also) but I am new to VW scene.... :?

ausgolfer
27-02-2007, 08:36 PM
http://www.clubgti.com/forum/showthread.php?t=51&highlight=9a

Different crankshafts and rods and pistons, and debate still rages about which is better.

Main differences are ABF is electronic injection and 9a is KE-jetronic.

And the 9a has much milder cams as stock because it's in a much milderand heavier car.

h100vw
27-02-2007, 09:02 PM
I have had both engines, one in a Passat Wagon the other in a MK3 Golf. The ABF is the one to have hands down. A far superior engine, VW quit developing the 9A for a good reason, the ABF was better.

Throttle response is like a MK1 and with a chip it'll do 170bhp or so.

Gavin

Bora Sport
27-02-2007, 09:29 PM
My understanding is that the 9A was basically for the American market where torque is king. It had roughly the same horsepower as the KR but heaps more torque lower in the rev range. They also did a torquier version of the KR (1.8) for America which is known as the PL. It had around 122hp as I recall. I think Dave DOHC has one in his Mk 1 and it goes quite nicely. No doubt there are other variations. I had a 9A in my Mk 2 (converted from a KR). It ran out of puff at about 6500rpm whereas the KR revved to the limiter around 8000rpm.

The 9A was far superior in day to day driving though and for in gear performance the 9A would run away and hide from the KR. My mate put the KR cams into a 9A plus the KR inlet manifold and got an instant 155hp.