PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here though not a Skoda owner just yet!

zach
23-10-2009, 09:09 AM
Hi All,

I'm looking to upgrade from my 04 Mazda 6 sedan into something with a larger boot so have been looking at the Octavia wagons. I was fortunate to get a RS DSG for an overnight test drive and have also driven the 1.8 DSG wagon.

On the positive both engines/transmission combos were superb coming from 2.3l atmo and 4sp auto the power delivery aided by DSG was light years ahead. Boot in wagon has great dimensions having straight walls unlike other wagons which have wheel arches in the way, etc. Updated interior is for me far superior to previous model. I can go on and on really :)

On the negatives although only a couple but quite major and wanted to seek your feedback/opinions. The seats in both cars particulalrly for the lower back are quite narrow and I'm not a huge bloke by anymeans. Anyone else notice this but have come acustomed to it?

The 1.8 suspension was as reported in media, jiggly. It was probably a worse ride than the RS. Not sure how this happens or allowed to leave factory with such a ride? I'd want to add 17" wheels for asthetics but how poor would the ride be then?

Am going to test drive another 1.8 and also the TDI (non RS) to check the ride again. Sorry for long post and appreicate your thoughts.

Bayford Skoda
23-10-2009, 10:06 AM
The 17" wheel option is factory fitted and comes with sports suspension, so it ride's quite similar to the RS.

Sales @ Mentone Skoda
23-10-2009, 10:32 AM
The 1.8 suspension was as reported in media, jiggly. It was probably a worse ride than the RS. Not sure how this happens or allowed to leave factory with such a ride? I'd want to add 17" wheels for asthetics but how poor would the ride be then?