PDA

View Full Version : warm it up!

boogz
27-07-2009, 09:39 AM
Hey Guys,

Just want the general consensus and potentially technical guide on warming up before driving off...

On another thread I mentioned I warmed up my car for about 5 mintues before driving on the road and was kindly told that it was probably doing more harm than good. Probably true, but want to hear from everyone else as well. Plus it's an exuse to get a thread going... hehehe... :biggrin:

Would love to hear your input....

Manaz
27-07-2009, 09:49 AM
Interesting question - one I've thought about myself quite a bit.

I generally don't spend a lot of time warming my car up - but I do try to drive sedately until the temperature needle starts to swing upwards.

I don't know that warming up is necessary these days with oil technology being what it is, but I'm no mechanic, and would definitely like to hear the opinion of someone with better knowledge than I!

Arctra
27-07-2009, 10:08 AM
My understanding is that with Diesels it's better to do what Manaz said. The diesel engine needs to work in order to not glaze the bore. Start car and drive sedately till the engine is warm before caning it. Usually 5 to 10 minutes of driving depending on ambient temps and how hard the engine is working. The temp needle is usually for your coolant temp, not oil temp, so I wait for even longer than when the needle hits ideal temp.

WABIT
27-07-2009, 03:27 PM
lol, there is no need to warm up new cars, some vw models even have pre warmed water flowing through the radiator upon startup!

warming up is old news now

dom

rayray086
27-07-2009, 04:03 PM
Yeah I remember reading my Golf's manual and my sister's Polo's manual (both Mk3) and it says in bold writing that there's no need to let the car sit, rather just drive once you started but not to give it stick. Their reasoning was that using the car straight off will help warm up the car faster than if it was just idling away.

SoVeReIgN
27-07-2009, 04:32 PM