PDA

View Full Version : Any NSW Tig owners interested in a soft-road run?

Arctra
17-06-2009, 10:16 AM
Seeing as the Tig is a soft-roader I am keen on doing a little off-road driving. Not heavy 4x4'ing as I have no such experience, but some firebreak and light-ish off-roading is appealing.

Reading up this post it seems Yalwal wouldn't be a bad idea: http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=68374#post882483

Hey mate, Yalwal is probably your best bet (well, in that area anyway).

One of my favourite little tracks to enter the area is by turning off west immediately south of the motorcross track, at a 4 way intersection (Yerriyong Vale Road). Continue along for about 5 kays before turning right onto a marked fire trail. Its given a number. The track should cross a dry creek bed about 200m from the dirt road and then climb a very steep hill another 300m further along. You will eventually come out at a clearing under some power lines. Follow them south down the slope and you will come out at Deans Gap Road. From here you can turn right then left (for Yalwal), left then right (there should be an open gate at this turnoff for Wombat Flat and meet up with the Monkey Gum Fire Trail, which starts out being called Mintbrush track and , Wombat Flat Road and Blackwood Road according to google maps) or left then left to follow the powerlines further south.

Last time I was there (Nov 08 ) you could still access Wombat Flat (via Deans Gap Road) and come out on the Braidwood Road via Monkey Gum Fire Trail. There are some interesting tracks around the flat although Monkey Gum isnt all the challenging.

I also read somewhere recently that Yarramunmun Fire Trail was open again (gates unlocked) as the rangers got sick of everyone trying to go around the gates. If this is true I would doubt the trail itself would be as fun as it used to be.