PDA

View Full Version : another one waiting, waiting, waiting...

clip
16-11-2008, 06:27 PM
Better intro myself. I'm in Bris now and waiting for my Tig to arrive. Only ordered it last month so they're saying end of March - or later.

Anyway, all good things come to those that wait etc etc.

Just out of interest for anyone not sure which way to go, this is how I ended up with a Tig:

I have a busted back (motorbike accident), and my first need is for the seating position offered in most suvs or larger 4x4s.

the list: (as I'm new to the SUV / soft roader scene, the following comments are just my opinion and I apologize in advance if I offend anyone - not the intention)

1. 2wd v6 Kluger. 200kw should do it nicely. BUT, this car should not be allowed on the road! Simple as that, it's a bloody nightmare to drive. Understeer to buggery, too much power to the front wheels that leaves you standing at the lights with the front wheels spinning! Useless and dangerous and really too big for my needs anyway.

2. Forester. OK but that's it. Felt and looked "old". Quality not there anymore. Need drastic upgrade - and with their oil burning issues in other models, Subaru really need to go into damage control.

3. V6 RAV4. Much better than the Kluger. This actually went around corners! Power to spare and much better delivered than on the Klug. Cheap feel to it though, not comfortable enough for me, back sore after 20min.

4. Mazda CX7. Probably worst after the Kluger, and the biggest disappointment given the hype around these. Poor viability, searing heat through the huge front windscreen, awful turbo lag, and felt, well felt like it had a small 4cyl in it that you were ringing the neck of to get it going. Once it got going it was great though. No headroom (I'm 188cm) and my head was hitting the roof even with the seat down as low as possible.

5. Honda CRV. OK, good quality finish, good feel to it, not enough power. Just a very "beige" car.