PDA

View Full Version : Removing Eurovox

doc
16-04-2008, 05:15 PM
Hi all

I'm new to VW's so you'll have to excuse me if I ask some ridiculous questions. I've just bought a 2001 Bora and want to replace the original Eurovox 4680 with something better. I've had a go with wires into the 4 holes on the sideof the front but it doesn't seem to want to come out.

Is that the way to remove it or is there some other sneaky way like a rear bolt?

Thanks in advance

doc

Mr İharisma
16-04-2008, 05:23 PM
To get mine out properly I had to:
From the left side, take the black side cover off ( you will see it when you open the door )
Take out the glove box ( 6 screws from memory )
That will expose 2 screws for the main frame.

Now from the other side:
Take off the same black cover ( the fuses are under there )
Take off the first cover and bottom covers
Take off the second cover and that will expose the 2 screws on the right.

Under the 4 screws and the middle console will come out. Ill see if I can find the link from vwvortex, I think there are piccies on there.

doc
16-04-2008, 05:30 PM
Gee that was quick. Thanks. Seems like a lot of work just to get a stereo out. I'd appreciate the pictures if you can locate them.

ope126
16-04-2008, 05:33 PM
Go get yourself the proper removal tools; VW / eBay etc.
Then it will come straight out.

Failing that, go to autObarn and they will remove it for you...

doc
16-04-2008, 05:36 PM
Thanks 126. Will do.

Mr İharisma
16-04-2008, 07:01 PM
Yeah ill try and find all my piccies. I think I actually took them all step by step. The only other thing you can try is getting those thin metal removal tools and take it out but I think it was bolted in at the rear. I probably just did it the hard way but it worked :D

icacha
16-04-2008, 07:10 PM
this is what you need to get the radio out without going to the hassle of removing other panels...

http://www.deals-on-ice.co.uk/shop/images/categories/stereo%20release%20keys.jpeg

doc
16-04-2008, 08:33 PM