PDA

View Full Version : Bike Rack

Gladbach
18-04-2017, 02:55 PM
Can anyone recommend a decent bike rack for the Tig? I don't have a towbar/hitch, so I'm thinking of one of those ones that straps across the tailgate. I've never used one before though. Obviously, I don't want the rack to leave any wear marks on the car.

For what it's worth, I tried putting the seats down yesterday and loading my bike in but it didn't quite fit (would have if I took off the front wheel), and it was hard enough trying to get one bike in, let alone a second. I was also worried about scratching the interior.

TheTig
18-04-2017, 03:45 PM
Can anyone recommend a decent bike rack for the Tig? I don't have a towbar/hitch, so I'm thinking of one of those ones that straps across the tailgate. I've never used one before though. Obviously, I don't want the rack to leave any wear marks on the car.

For what it's worth, I tried putting the seats down yesterday and loading my bike in but it didn't quite fit (would have if I took off the front wheel), and it was hard enough trying to get one bike in, let alone a second. I was also worried about scratching the interior.

What sort of bike do you have? was looking at the same thing. Currently have a 2005 X-Trail and the Hybrid fits no worries, kinda thought it would fit with the seats down in the Tig as well.... :(

Plan on getting a road bike soon, so what ever the solution is, needs to be flexible.

Had a bit of a look at roof bars and then the bike roof mount, but a little unsure on that solution and getting the bike up there. Dunno about the strap on mounts, haven't seen those before.

Gladbach
18-04-2017, 04:20 PM
What sort of bike do you have? was looking at the same thing. Currently have a 2005 X-Trail and the Hybrid fits no worries, kinda thought it would fit with the seats down in the Tig as well.... :(

Plan on getting a road bike soon, so what ever the solution is, needs to be flexible.