PDA

View Full Version : Recomendation for inexpensive code reader

jfranek
07-01-2017, 02:16 PM
Hi,
I am a beginner in this, but keen to try things.
A week ago I got the low oil warning light on my Tiguan 125 TSI MY 2010. I got home, googled the correct oil, bought it, poured in 1/2 litre to a mid level between Min and Max.

Can't remember exactly how long after that, I got the Engine problem light on steady yellow while driving.
Last night in bed it occurred to me to check the oil cap. It wasn't on - just lying on the engine cover. A bit of mess. Between the oil top up and now, I have driven about 40km. Had to put in more oil, about 0.2 l.

The engine warning light is still on, but I haven't driven yet. I have no idea whether it will reset by itself, when, or if it has to be done with the OBD2 scanner.

I am now thinking about buying a cheap scanner anyway, but would like one specific for VW cars. Can't afford to buy the VCDS, just a bluetooth or cable connected.

Here is one Bluetooth -

ELM327 OBD2 OBDII Bluetooth Interface Engine Scan Tool Code Reader For Android - $24
Not sure what app this will need and if it can read/recognise VW specific codes

Here is one with cable -

VS450 VAG CAN Auto Diagnostic Scan Tool OBD2 Code Reader for VW/Audis Since 1990 - $65 from eBay

Does anybody here know these gadgets, or could they recommend better at similar price, please?

Also some ideas what could happen if I take the car to a VW dealer ($$$$ ??)

Thanks in advance.

Harrydhillon
08-01-2017, 09:33 AM
OBDEleven??

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

jfranek
08-01-2017, 11:19 AM
" the system is using online databases so it requires good internet connection for fast and smooth work. "

I have heard of it, but I don't have good wifi in the garage, and don't use data plan on my phone.

thanks anyway

Hillbilly
08-01-2017, 07:25 PM
Cheap and VW. An oxymoron I think LOL

jfranek
08-01-2017, 07:45 PM