PDA

View Full Version : HEX-NET : When too much VCDS is never enough!!

DV52
11-05-2016, 06:08 PM
So, I've been using a HEX+CAN cable for a few years now and I just received a HEX-NET device from Ross Tech. Thought that I would share my out-of-the-box experience in case anyone else was considering an upgrade.

First, this is how the unit comes packed-up from Ross Tech:

http://www.vwwatercooled.com.au/forums/images/imported/2016/05/W9UQR1A-1.jpg

Very neat and damage resistant package albeit it is a large box for what is a small device! The real goodies (and what you are paying-for) of course is the HEX-NET dongle, which looks like this:

http://www.vwwatercooled.com.au/forums/images/imported/2016/05/QPn1kFS-1.jpg

The predominant difference with the HEX-NET is the separate USB cable and the "other" end of the dongle (i.e. the end that doesn't have the OBDII socket) - which looks like this:

http://www.vwwatercooled.com.au/forums/images/imported/2016/05/bdDts0q-1.jpg

So, HEX-NET can be used in the following two basic modes;

the traditional VCDS mode (which would be familiar to many) where the USB cable is plugged-into the dongle and the laptop, and
WIFI mode

In WFI mode, the HEX_NET can be used in two further modes as follows:

Access Point mode - this is where HEX-NET remotely communicates directly with the laptop or other device.
Infrastructure mode - this is where HEX-NET remotely communicates via an existing network, including the router on that network.

Setting-up the WIFI modes is pretty-much the same process as registering a normal WIFI device to a computer. I did this by using the new software that Ross Tech has made available called the "WIFI Configuration Utility". To use this software however, it was first necessary to download Java onto my laptop, but the process is easy!