PDA

View Full Version : Any one dare to get a VCDS with HEX-NET Professional USB & WiFi Interface

LunchboxVRS
26-04-2016, 09:51 PM
As the title suggest has anyone dared to lash and and buy a VCDS® with HEX-NET® Professional
USB & WiFi Interface. Or the lesser 10 Vin only version

I have the the hex cable but no longer have a pic laptop and have gone Apple all round.
OBD eleven would be a nice Bluetooth option but it's only for android.

Interested to see how it goes wirelessly with a iPad.
Seems it uses the Internet browsers to make changes using VCDS mobile.

jimmyjamesred
18-12-2016, 06:35 AM
I got one and went the 10 VIN option. I'm using it on my car and my sisters. I thought 10 VINs would do me ok. RT do sell extra VINs apparently if you get stuck later. I tried using VCDS mobile on my MacBook but ended up running the software via USB in Parallels. I'm a newb to VCDS and just found it easier to use the same interface and the walkthroughs I was following. I'd probably be able to use mobile ok now.

EDIT: There is a table here which details what can be done via VCDS mobile vs what you need the app for: Functions - Ross-Tech Wiki (http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index.php/Functions)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The_Hawk
18-12-2016, 01:21 PM
I've been tempted to trade up to the WiFi dongle, but honestly it seems like a lot of expense over the USB one for not a lot of gain.

I'm also on a Mac so am running Parallels, up until recently it gave me no issues. For some reason the connection got flakey in one of the releases so I moved to a boot camp install instead where it works perfectly. I've also got a Windows machine flosting about (my daughters) if I get really stuck :P

LunchboxVRS
18-12-2016, 01:57 PM
I'm running a 5k iMac and an iPad Pro. I have kept my old laptop for VCDS but it's on its last legs so I need something more portable.
Unless some one has come up with a lightning to USB plug that works.

DV52
18-12-2016, 02:22 PM