PDA

View Full Version : New head or new engine

sparkie
13-12-2007, 03:11 PM
Hi I've finally had a look at my Mk 1 Golf diesel and the head is buggered. I have a Mk diesel (turbo) in the shed with 5 speed box, but have been quoted $875 for a bare new head from VW.

What would you do? I have little experience with mechanical work, but a bit, and I am keen to learn about my car, but both and engine swap and a head rebuild are daunting, do a jump in and get my hands dirty? or entrust to my local mechanic. What chance the 1.5 will be any good elsewhere after the head is rebuilt?

I am told the Mk2 engine would be a much better drive

Any ideas welcome

cetane
13-12-2007, 04:15 PM
Firstly, why do you say the head is "buggered"? Cracks between the valve seats on each cylinder are common and they don't affect running unless they're a mile wide. Is it corroded? Can it be rebuilt or welded if necessary?

Secondly, you say you have a "turbo" motor. If it's factory then it'll be a 1.6 and the turbo heads and pistons are different to the 1.5. For example the pistons are ported to squirt oil under the piston crowns so aiding cooling and the oil drain hole in the front of the head is a different diameter. You can't use a 1.6 head gasket on a 1.5 motor.

What should you do?

Ascertain just how stuffed it is.
Consult cylinder head re manufacturers and find out how much it'll cost to refurbish it. Even if you decide to fix the 1.5 motor up still rebuild the 1.6 as they are scarce here.
If you don't want the 1.6 I'll buy it!

sparkie
13-12-2007, 04:22 PM