PDA

View Full Version : Difference between CAI and SRI

Rads
11-12-2007, 03:54 PM
howdy all

My name is Rads and I am new to this so please be gentle and excuse my lack of knowledge.

I currently have a stock 2005 VW Golf and wanted to do make minor modifications to it. I've got a bout $400 to spend so nothing major. I want to play around with the air filter/air box and I have read so much conflicting stuff on the net its actually frustrating.

What I would like to know is;

1) For my stock VW Golf would a CAI or SRI be best?
or
2) The pipes/tubes from a SRI kit modified to fit the stock airbox with a replacement drop in filter?

In terms of running rich or lean, does a CAI or SRI play a part in that?

Sorry if I am pushing my luck with my questions but i would really appreciate the advice.

Thanks in advance
Rads

balkanac
11-12-2007, 04:14 PM
welcome to the forums mate! this is the right place for asking these kind of questions and just generally wasting time at work :)
I had a POD filter on my car and it caused the MAF to die. I have a CAI now, and i can't believe how much difference it made. I had a Liberty B4 before this and that had a CAI as well, and ran so much nicer. I'd spend that money on a good CAI.

Rads
11-12-2007, 05:57 PM
welcome to the forums mate! this is the right place for asking these kind of questions and just generally wasting time at work :)
I had a POD filter on my car and it caused the MAF to die. I have a CAI now, and i can't believe how much difference it made. I had a Liberty B4 before this and that had a CAI as well, and ran so much nicer. I'd spend that money on a good CAI.

So you rekon a CAI ha? What CAI brand would you recommend i go for? Also, a CAI makes no difference if the car is not a turbo right?

I was interested by the BMC-CDA filters because of the carbon fibre surrounding the filter. It makes sense to have set up like this dont you think?

ScienceVR6
11-12-2007, 07:19 PM