PDA

View Full Version : Upgrades?

dogfood
01-06-2006, 12:31 AM
Hello everyone, great forum by the way. Wondered if any of you lot could help me out. Ive got a 16v SEAT ibiza, which in my opinion is a bit sluggish till 3rd gear. Been thinkin bout a lightened flyheel or an ecu firstly, and then possibly a sports exhaust. Id realy like to keep the car looking(and sounding) as standard as poss, so an exhaust would be, for me, a last resort, although its probably the most effective mod. I guess the drawback of a lightened flywheel is the loss of torque, but maybe its possible to machine it so's not to lose too much? Id realy appreciate any feedback, especialy on choosing ecu's . Sorry if i missed this topic elsewhere. im kinda new to this intanet thing.

imported_brackie
01-06-2006, 06:13 AM
G'day and welcome! You should find the right advice here. If you want to look at topics that you missed, they are all archived. Just click on "Search" under the header and away you go!

Valver.
01-06-2006, 07:17 AM
Hello everyone, great forum by the way. Wondered if any of you lot could help me out. Ive got a 16v SEAT ibiza, which in my opinion is a bit sluggish till 3rd gear. Been thinkin bout a lightened flyheel or an ecu firstly, and then possibly a sports exhaust. Id realy like to keep the car looking(and sounding) as standard as poss, so an exhaust would be, for me, a last resort, although its probably the most effective mod. I guess the drawback of a lightened flywheel is the loss of torque, but maybe its possible to machine it so's not to lose too much? Id realy appreciate any feedback, especialy on choosing ecu's . Sorry if i missed this topic elsewhere. im kinda new to this intanet thing.

You're better off asking this on www.seatcupra.net as there's a lot more Cupra owners on there!! Handsdown the best mods you can make are a lightened flywheel and 3.94:1 final drive (from a 3.65).