Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Buying Tips for a used 7L/7P Touareg

Users Country Flag

Buying Tips for a used 7L/7P Touareg

Hi guys,
    I am new to the world of Touareg's and would like to ask some of you guys with regards to personal experiences. My wife and I are considering purchasing a caravan and both of my existing cars (turbo petrol Jetta and R36) aren't up to the task of towing a decent sized van. Considering selling the Jetta and purchasing an SUV with a tow ball. At the moment I like the current 7P shape (the 7L seems like a good rig too but I just can't deal with the shape of that steering wheel. It would bug me the whole time I had the car if I was purchase one of the older ones) and I am not sure on whether the 150 or 180kw diesel will satisfy me but that is not really important at this real early stage. Can anyone give me some tips on things to look out for if I decide to look at a Touareg. Don't really want to buy a lemon. They seem to be holding their value as there is a few that are a few of years old with over 100 thousand kays and still want mid 40's for them!!! Anyway, if anyone has some advice, it would be appreciated. I will start having a browse through this part of the forum now that I am considering one and do some research. Thanks guys.
    2013 Touareg V8TDi - Black, LED Interior Mods, LED Projector "VW" Door Courtesy Lights, 20" VW Mountain Rims with A/T Tyres, Pioneer SX Roof Platform with some 4x4 accessories and a whole lotta torque

Users Country Flag
    If I was paying mid 40's i would be looking for the best 100 ser Landcruiser I could find.

Why Parts are available all over the country even in remote places. '

If the Toureg broke down in the back of beyond you may be sitting for a while waiting for parts.
    Also oil is expensive in some of them.
    2021 Kamiq LE 110 , Moon White, BV cameras F & B
    Mamba Ebike to replace Tiguan

Club Touareg is you best bet to ask....Australia & New Zealand - Club Touareg Forums