Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice on racing tires and wheels

Users Country Flag

Advice on racing tires and wheels

Hi there...I'm a newbie to motor racing and so far I've been to the VW progressive course at Phillip island and I've also been on MSAV event at Sandown. After my Sandown stint...my front tyres (continentals) are worn out and need replacing. My car has done 16000 Kms....so I reckon that the track day didn't help much. On the track, I did 3 sessions and each session was about 15-20 mins I think.
    I'm keen to go to the sandown event on 30th November but this time am reluctant to use the contis....don't want to have to change them again.
    I thought that since I'll be doing track 2-3 times a year, I should get a set of race tires on a set of second hand wheels for those. I've looked around and Hankooks Ventus TD Z221 seem to be popular but a little bit pricey. I would lean towards the medium compound...purely because I'm still new to this and I think I'll cook the soft very quickly....also sandown in November will be quite hot for soft tires.

Users Country Flag
    Is there a question here?

All I can say is do it.
    Just find a secondhand set of rims for your car. If smaller rims will clear your brakes, you may well find a wider and cheaper selection of semi-slicks are available.

The Z221 is not at all expensive for the performance it provides - just try pricing a comparable semi-slick from Yokohama / Dunlop / Bridgestone. If you want to go cheaper for your first set, St Georges Tyres and others on eBay often have Toyo R888 and Nitto NT01 semi-slicks at good prices
    Resident grumpy old fart
    VW - Metallic Paint, Radial Tyres, Laminated Windscreen, Electric Windows, VW Alloy Wheels, Variable Geometry Exhaust Driven Supercharger, Direct Unit Fuel Injection, Adiabatic Ignition, MacPherson Struts front, Torsion Beam rear, Coil Springs, Hydraulic Dampers, Front Anti-Roll Bar, Disc Brakes, Bosch ECU, ABS

Users Country Flag