Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: VW Emergeny Braking Assist... does it actually work?

Users Country Flag

VW Emergeny Braking Assist... does it actually work?

Good morning everyone,
    Newbie here form QLD.
    Admins, I wasn’t sure if this is the correct place to postthis question, if it’s not could you kindly move it to the appropriate locationplease.
    I purchased my first VW in 2016 and it was one of the first2nd gen Tiguan in QLD (according to my dealership). I have done over10k in the last year and strangely have never had the smart city braking/emergency braking trigger.
    The adaptive cruise control works well, the blind detection,lane keep assist, auto parking, they all work perfectly. But never once have Ihad the emergency braking come on.
    I have a Pajero sport as my work car and the city braking wouldoften trigger at least once when I drive to and from work.
    Reading the manual, it says the VW city braking can triggerbetween 60-4km/hr.

Mine has not come on once in the last 13 month. I waswondering if it is because, the sensitivity of the VW has been dialled down, orit is a fault or could it be I somehow turned it off. Have you had the sameexperience with the emergency braking?
    If anyone can share their experience with the emergencybraking on their VW, I would be extremely grateful.

Thank you,

SAM
    2016 Tiguan Gen 2. 140TDI Rline Highline + all options

Users Country Flag
    Only from my Passat but the first week i had it I found out it worked wonderfully well A car had slowed right down to make an illegal turn and I had glanced down at the very instant as I wasnt expecting that and suddenly the car slammed to a halt bigtime.

Hasnt ever done it since but I learned a lesson
    2021 Kamiq LE 110 , Moon White, BV cameras F & B
    Mamba Ebike to replace Tiguan

Set up a wall of cardboard cartons and drive into it and see what happens.

Users Country Flag
    Quote Originally Posted by Ozsko View Post