Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Has anyone fitted Snow Chains to their R36? How did it handle the snow?

Users Country Flag

Has anyone fitted Snow Chains to their R36? How did it handle the snow?

What snowchains do people run on their R36?

Any damage?

My R36 is slightly lowered anything i should look out for?

How did it handle the snow and ice?

Is there a particular snow mode to run or does the 4 motion handle everything?

Sorry im a rookie when it comes to driving in the snow.

Any tips?
    2009 Volkswagen R36 Wagon
    1968 Audi F103 75L Coupe
    1966 Volkswagen Beetle Deluxe

Last season I dry fitted my chains and drove it on the grass for a bit to see if there were any issues. The chains I had were the normal sort of small diamond chains. No real issues at stock height but a bit of a bitch to get ur hand around all sides without reaching around from under the car.

The manual says to fit winter tyres but for the likelihood and distance of having to drive on snow in vic is pretty low. So I am happy to carry the chains for the stock 18s.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Users Country Flag Thread Starter
    Do special chains exist for low profile tyres?

Im running the OEM 18's at the moment but usually run 19" Lamborghini wheels.
    2009 Volkswagen R36 Wagon
    1968 Audi F103 75L Coupe
    1966 Volkswagen Beetle Deluxe

Users Country Flag
    Also would like to know for the B7 4 motion, just about to plan for the snow trip. Went to Lake Mountain last year as no chains needed for AWD

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk
    MY12 Passat FSI Highline | 3.6L VR6 | Cashmere Brown | Driver Assistance Package | Dynaudio | Discover Media | TPMS Direct | Side Assist | Adaptive Cruise | 3D colour cluster | More coming soon
    Genuine VCDS HEX-NET and VCP Pro

Users Country Flag
    With previous vehicles, I ordered "cable chains" from the USA. Sooooooo much cheaper than buying locally, and ideally suited to installation on limited clearance vehicles.