Support VWWC

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Windscreen scratches and chips

Users Country Flag

I've never had to use an ice scraper myself but i have seen them. The only way i can imagine an ice scraper scratching the windscreen would be if there was a small rock or some other hard material (road debris/piece of tar/metal etc) that got picked up by the ice scraper and scratched the glass.
    2017 Ford Fiesta ST
    2015 Audi SQ5 bi-turbo V6 TDI family hauler

Users Country Flag
    Getting slightly off subject but why are you using a plastic scraper? I fill the watering can with hot water from the tap and pour it over my windows when they are iced up. To make sure the windscreen doesn't ice up again straight away I turn the wipers on for a few strokes to clear the water off.

I've been doing this for 40 years, on a great range of cars and as long as the windscreen isn't already cracked it doesn't do any damage. Just pour the water on so it takes a few seconds to do the windscreen, not throw it all on at once.

Canberra may be cold but you should see the ice we get out at Braidwood most mornings.

Cheers

Paul

Users Country Flag
    ^ i cant believe you have done that for 40 years and never cracked a windscreen? How hot is the water (boiling?).
    2017 Ford Fiesta ST
    2015 Audi SQ5 bi-turbo V6 TDI family hauler

Users Country Flag
    Previous discussion for the Golf Mk7:

Windscreen replacement

AAMI wanted to replace with "compliant to Australian standard glass" *spit*, I paid $400 extra to get OEM. All through Windscreen's O'Brien at Fyshwick I think...(They came to work to replace it)

Users Country Flag
    Quote Originally Posted by sports racer View Post