Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Intake cleaning spray thread

Users Country Flag

Intake cleaning spray thread

Hey all,

As I get a LOT of questions related to PCV and catch cans, thought I'd start a thread to hear peoples experiences and techniques of using intake cleaning sprays. I'm aware of a few different brands, but have recently been recommending the "Subaru upper engine cleaner" SA459, an aerosol spray. This needs to be added after the air cleaner element, and to be safe, alongside / after the MAF as they can be sensitive. I need to find out if this stuff is MAF safe. That said it does take a bit to kill a MAF, but what I am trying to do here is amass all the information, as I'm no absolute expert on this stuff.

From a Subaru website:

Half a can is sprayed it then wait 10 minutes. Then the vehicle is started & whilst idling (juggling the throttle cables) the remainder of the can is sprayed into the inlet & the engine is turned off. Wait another 10 minutes, then restart the engine & rev it to 4000+ revs till the smoke from the exhaust clears. ( I'd suggest on a warm engine!! )