Support VWWC

Thread: Advice on 2K lowering/coilovers

Users Country Flag

Advice on 2K lowering/coilovers

Hi.

I'm new to the Caddy area (have a 10 year mk2 GTI build thread on this forum) as I've sold my beloved Mk2 GTI.

I race go karts and am about to buy a 2009 Caddy Maxi but was wondering about lowering it.

Any advice on brands would be great! I don't want to go all out and spent a gazillion dollars on bags or KW V3's etc, just something reasonable that isn't cheap crap and will give a decent drop front & rear.

Cheers
    Wade
    -1990 Mk2 GTI 5-door with AMK 20vt (260hp @ wheels)
    -Arrow/Rotax 125 TAG X1E Go Kart

ST's made by KW are good. Cheaper than KW's but a nice compromise between quality and price. Plenty of guys in the UK running them on Caddy.

VMax are pretty much the go to coilovers for the Caddy in the UK and also what I run on my van here in Melbourne.

Lower in the range would be the ProSports.

At the end of the day anything suited to the MK5 Golf will be OK as long as you get the right strut diameter, either 50mm or 55mm depending on your Caddy.

Sent from my HTC 2PS6200 using Tapatalk
    Using Tapatalk

Users Country Flag Thread Starter
    Quote Originally Posted by Horace01 View Post
    ST's made by KW are good. Cheaper than KW's but a nice compromise between quality and price. Plenty of guys in the UK running them on Caddy.

VMax are pretty much the go to coilovers for the Caddy in the UK and also what I run on my van here in Melbourne.

Lower in the range would be the ProSports.

At the end of the day anything suited to the MK5 Golf will be OK as long as you get the right strut diameter, either 50mm or 55mm depending on your Caddy.

Ok cool, thanks for that. I saw the ST's on ebay but the rear setup didn't look like it had any form of height adjustment - just a set height???

Quote Originally Posted by GOLFBALLS View Post