Support VWWC

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Polo GTI rear silencer Muffler replacement

Users Country Flag

Polo GTI rear silencer Muffler replacement

Hi

Newbie here just recently got my polo gti 2015 manual and i want to remove the rear muffler to a straight pipe for purely aesthetics and sound.

Will the removal of the OEM muffler cause any warning lights popping up and or will it do something to the power button in a sense that i would lose that sound when i hear the power is on.

Anyone done something similar?
    thanks.

Users Country Flag Thread Starter
    wow no takers?

Users Country Flag
    Hi Mate,

sorry no idea what a power button is but unless they have done some big things to Polo mufflers lately, then removing your muffler will have no nil effect other than to make it louder. The 9N3 gti had an a choked reverse flow muffler and in its absence the car did feel stronger but I cant say if you'll find the same power benefits without knowing how well the OE mufflers flow. I replaced my muffler with an aluminium rear pipe and still have the centre resonator and at civil speeds it growls, pops and crackles on over run etc all the fun stuff and isnt too loud really, but it is pretty obnoxious when you are really going for it.
    Unless your muffler is flanged you'll have to cut it off, buy two flanges welding one onto the exhaust and one onto your new straight pipe. Your straight pipe will need all new hangers (2) fitted too. Flanging is a good if you want the option to put the muffler back on (so when you cut it off make sure you leave enough pipe its entry to be able to weld a flange to it and get nuts in behind it). If not, then just weld some mild steer straight pipe straight on with hangers.

Gidday! you lost me there mate lolz