FIA Formula 3 European Championship
Successful weekend for Volkswagen in Zandvoort

Volkswagen leaves Zandvoort with a very successful record. With FIA Formula 3 European Championship on the North Sea coast for the eighth of ten race weekend, the Wolfsburg-based manufacturer claimed one win and two podiums. Red Bull Junior Daniil Kvyat (Russia) won the opening race on Saturday morning in his Dallara F312 “powered by Volkswagen”. He then added a second podium in race two on Saturday evening, coming home third. In Sunday’s third and final race, Volkswagen driver and British Formula 3 Champion Jordan King narrowly missed out on victory by 0.3 seconds at the demanding Dutch circuit, which is nestled among the dunes. Italy’s Raffaele Marciello (384.5 points) leads the overall standings in the Formula 3 European Championship, ahead of Rosenqvist (375). Best-placed Volkswagen drivers are Harry Tincknell (190) and Jordan King (152) in fifth and sixth. The penultimate race weekend of the European Championship will take place in Vallelunga, Italy, on 12th and 13th October.

ATS Formula 3 Cup
Champion Kirchhöfer can’t stop winning – Markelov runner-up

Although he wrapped up the championship in the ATS Formula 3 Cup two weeks ago in Oschersleben, Marvin Kirchhöfer does not do things by halves. At the season finale of the junior single-seater series, the 19-year-old won both Saturday’s race and the race on Sunday in his Dallara F311 “powered by Volkswagen”. He has now taken his impressive record for the season to 13 wins. The second race, which was shortened following a crash, was won by American Gustavo Menezes in his Dallara, again featuring the Volkswagen Power Engine. Two third places and a second were enough for Kirchhöfer’s team-mate Artem Markelov to secure the runner-up spot in the championship. The Russian had been battling for second place overall with team-mate Emil Bernstorff, who claimed two seconds and a fourth this weekend.

ADAC Formula Masters
Picariello sets new record in Hockenheim

Alessio Picariello, newly-crowned ADAC Formula Masters champion, claimed wins number 13 and 14 of the season at the finale of the junior single-seater series, setting a new record in the process. He became the most successful driver in the history of the series. The 20-year-old Belgian won race one on Saturday, ahead of Maximilian Günther (Germany) and Ralph Boschung (Switzerland). He then crossed the finish line first ahead of Nicolas Beer (Denmark) and Marvin Dienst (Germany) in race two. Victory in the third and final race on Sunday afternoon went to Beer, who was followed home by Jason Kremer (Germany) and Indy Dontje (Netherlands). In the overall standings, Maximilian Günther (240 points) finished runner-up behind Picariello (388), while Kremer secured third place with 227 points.

Volkswagen Polo R Cup India
Kruger wins all three races in Noida

South African Jeffrey Kruger was the outstanding driver on the third race weekend of the Volkswagen Polo R Cup India. The young man from Johannesburg won all three races at the Buddh International Circuit in Greater Noida, on the outskirts of the Indian capital Delhi, to extend his overall lead. In race one, Kruger came home more than ten seconds ahead of Rahil Noorani, who was closely followed by Angad Singh Matharoo. In the second race, he was joined on the podium by Prashanth Tharani and Yatin Magu, who both trailed Kruger by over 20 seconds. Race three was a far closer affair: Kartik Tharani crossed the line just five seconds behind Kruger in second place, with Lee Keshav Gupta just seven seconds behind the winner in third.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.